Referred to as "North America's Oldest City," St. John's is the oldest settlement in North America to hold city status with year-round settlement beginning before 1620. St John's is located on the eastern tip of the Avalon Peninsula and is the capital and oldest city in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador. St John's, known for its rich cultural history and picturesque landscapes is a popular tourist destination for thousands of tourists annually. This Gallery contains many photographs of the beauty of St John's.
Bowring Park, located in the Waterford Valley, is one of the most scenic parks in St. John's. Entrance to the park is via Waterford Bridge Road, passing a sculptured duck pond and a statue of Peter Pan. The park land was donated to the city in 1911 by Sir Edgar Rennie Bowring on behalf of Bowring Brothers Ltd. on their 100th anniversary of commerce in Newfoundland.
Signal Hill is a hill which overlooks the city of St. John's. It is the location of Cabot Tower which was built in 1897 to commemorate the 400th anniversary of John Cabot's discovery of Newfoundland, and Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee. The first transatlantic wireless transmission was received here by Guglielmo Marconi on December 12, 1901. Today, Signal Hill is a Canadian National Historic Site.
Quidi Vidi Lake is a mile long body of water located at the east end of the city of St. John's, Newfoundland. The lake has a long history of hosting sporting events, with the most renowned being the annual Royal St. John's Regatta, said to be the oldest continuous sporting event still held in North America.
Cape Spear: Located on the Avalon Peninsula near St John's, Newfoundland, Cape Spear is the easternmost point in North America. Because of its proximity to maritime routes, a gun battery was installed at Cape Spear to defend the entrance to St. John's harbour. A lighthouse has operated at Cape Spear since 1936. Cape Spear is known to have large and unpredictable waves. Visitors attracted by the scenery and history have been swept away and therefore tourists are warned to keep back from the shoreline when visiting here.
Fort Amherst is located on the southern side of the narrows, which is the entrance to St. John's Harbor. Apart from some private dwellings, Fort Amherst consists of a man-made harbor, a lighthouse and the remains of gun emplacements built during second world war to defend against the Germans. The first lighthouse was built at Fort Amherst in 1810. The current lighthouse was built in 1951. The location offers spectacular views of the entrance to St John's Harbor.